Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Wobbly standpipes by my freestanding bath in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

discostewart

FREESTANDING BATH TAPS ARE WOBBLY

Hi newbie here, wondered if someone can share views on stand pipes...

The stand pipes attached to my bath taps feel wobbly. They dont move too much but any pressure and i feel you could snap them. Im not sure if its a design fault or just bad fitting?

Ive asked the plumber to try refitting them twice but they are the same. The fitting kit supplied by Crosswater is for concrete (I rang them and they confirmed this, not many upstairs bathrooms that applies to was my reply). So, he has screwed down (wood screws) into the 12mm plywood and then throught the floorboards below. And attached washers to steady them. He says we cant go much further down due to pipework beneath.
The tiles havent gone in round around my standpipes for my bath yet. So im hoping i could find a way to solve this. Is this just the accepted problem with standpipes (ie they are high and thin so will always have leverage) or can something better be done? I looked for some kind of bracing kit but found nothing.

ellow m8 u ok?if the pipework is not in view you could make a lil platform to clip them to.

but sounds like summat needs sowting othawise if the pipes r loose wi that pressure of water streamin through will rock the pipework an u'll hear it thud then eventually ul ave got a leak :confused:

I've seen a neat bracket that joins standpipes to the overflow pipe like a t-bar with three loops - possibly V&B or V&A? This links it all together towards the top. Don;t know if compatible with ur crosswater though