Discuss Total Newbie - Please help in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Adrian_london

Hi all.

This is my first posting on here. Basically, this is how my house is set up......

I live in NW London (if that helps). At the moment, I have an old Baxi boiler which is in the kitchen. I have no idea how old it is but it looks very old. My hot water cylinder is in the bathroom with the timer. I have 7 radiators in the 3 bedroom house in total and I live on my own.

I am going to rip out my entire bathroom and start again. I am DEFINATELY having the hot water cylinder moved into the loft. I would also like the boiler moved into the loft to make more space in the kitchen.

Here is my problem...........

I have NO IDEA AT ALL about boilers and I don't want to be ripped off. I am looking for a new boiler and hot water cylinder. I do not want a combi boiler as I love power showers and I've been led to believe that I cannot have a power shower if I have a combi boiler.

I would like to get a 4 bar pump for whatever shower I buy as I love to have my skin peeled off when I shower!!!! I would like a large cylinder as I don't want to have a 2 minute shower and then the water runs cold!!!

Can anyone please advise me on which boiler and cylinder to get.

p.s I don't want to spend a fortune!!

Adrian get some quotes done by some local plumbers ask your friends and neighbours. But thats alot of work and it wont be cheap, and the cheapest is not always the best.

You are correct you cannot have a power shower with a combi, it just cant cope with the volume of water to heat and you cant pump from a combi as in effect you would be pumping of the main.

some of the better worcester bosch combis will do the job but no you couldnt run a 4 bar pump
putting boiler in loft is extra because it needs to be boarded walkway to boiler and a guard around the loft hatch as well