Discuss Hello all in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Soulsad

Well my introduction is very basic.
I'm a female cash-strapped lecturer in FE and have been having problems with British Gas and the boiler they installed about 6 years ago.

I live in a top floor flat on the 5th floor in a block of 26 flats. When my old system boiler gave in, BG recommended a combi boiler. They checked the water flow of the hot water tap and said it wasn't ideal but passed the minimum pressure for a combi.

They installed a Worcester 28 CDI (room-sealed) along with a Triton 150 shower in the bathroom. The problem is that over the years the water pressure has got worse, so that I can no longer have a shower, the hot water flow has decreased dramatically in the kitchen and bathroom taps so that I can't even have a bath in a hurry!

BG say they can do nothing about the drop in water pressure, but recommended a 'sonic clean' and 'hydroflow' device fitted. Well, it hasn't made an ounce of difference!

I contacted Thames Water and the local council about the water pressure. TW meet the minimum requirements for the pressure and the local council visited my property and said that I should NEVER HAVE HAD A COMBI FITTED UP ON THE 5TH FLOOR! They don't advise combis above the 1st floor, because the water pressure is affected by the other flats using water at peak times.

Even using the hot water in the kitchen where the boiler is situated is slow and sometimes doesn't even 'fire-up' the boiler to heat the water.

I've been reading some of the posts here and seen the knowledgeable replies and was wondering if anyone can advise me on a solution to my problem.

The local council reckons I was mis-sold the boiler as they didn't check the pressure over a 24-hour period, and the fact that I had a pump attached to the cylinder on my old system boiler should have been enough to rule out a combi boiler.

Please help!