Discuss advice on what seems to be a dodgy install in rented accomidation in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

g4dget

I have recently had a combi fitted in the house i rent after the original heating system (back boiler) stopped working.
unfortunatly i was working away when it was fitted and my partner was left to deal with the fitters. on my return i checked over the install and a few things just don't seem right. (i would like to point out that i have no plumbing experience so i could be wrong but....)

we had several companies quote for this work to be carried out but the actual install was carried out by the letting agents own maintenace people who i subsquently found out had subbed it on to another fitter who wasn't too sure how to fit the thing (my nextdoor neighbour heard the fitter on the phone several times confirming what he had done and the asking what he needed to do next) hence my concern

if anyone could answer the queries i have that would be ace

1.new gas pipework was fitted from the meter to the upstairs back bedroom the original pipe work that ran to the boiler ( situated in the livingroom ) was cross bonded to the water pipe that ran alongside it, the new pipework does cross the water pipe where the original cross bonding was but the cross bonding hasn't been reattached.
2. the condensator pipe?? has been vented to atmosphere (right next to the bedroom window.
3. what i assume to be some sort of vent/blow off pipework has also been vented straight to atmosphere but it is positioned directly above the back door right next to the condensator pipe.
4.apparently a flush was put in the system for 30 mins (is that long enough??
5.the flue wasn't probed to confirm the boiler was working effectivly (i was told this was required) and it is positioned less than a meter from the bedroom window and flush with the roof