Search the forum,

Discuss Soft water and combi boiler in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

danmickread

Hi, i am no expert. I have some central heating knowledge, but i have bought a water softener and am reading many different articles/comments on filling your central heating system up with soft water. Some for and some against. I have a baxi duo tec 28 which has a combi care scale inhibitor on the cold feed to the boiler.
Now Firstly does the combi care do the same job as a softener or at least try to, if so that would mean the central heating and hot water would be softened or not anyway?
I bought the softener as anyone does to elimenate limescale, so i assumed i would drain down and fill the central heating system with soft water as well in order to stop limescale build up in my central heating pipes and boiler. I then read that in no instance should soft water be used to fill the central heating system up as soft water is more corrosive because of higher ph levels and increased levels of sodium, or something like that so its no good for your boiler. I then read that it is ok providing you use a corrosion inhibitor such as sentinel x100. So if i use hard water you get limescale if i use soft water i get corrossion correct? Which is worse.
What i am mainly confused about is if i install a softener but leave hard water in the central heating with inhibitors, or put soft water in the central heating with inhibitors either way soft "corrosive" water with no inhibitors will still pass through the boiler and pipes for my hot water. Is the correct?
Also inhibitors such as the sentinel are for use in indirect systems, is a combi boiler an indirect system, what does this mean?
Any help on this would be greatly apprecciated.
Thanks Dan