Search the forum,

Discuss loctite 55 or hemp on shower mixer valve in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
O

ojchurch

Hi, first post so I'm sure this has been covered but couldn't find through searches.

I'm fitting a shower thermostatic mixer valve. Its got female 3/4" threaded connections, I've got male 3/4" to 15mm compression fittings. The compression side is fine just not sure whether to use loctite 55 or hemp. I think I saw on one post that you couldn't use hemp on water pipes apart from heating because of microbe growth or something. Is this rubbish? Also like to know which people think is best and why. Might as well use the best method I can to hopefully avoid leaks.

I'm a sparks by trade (queue jokes) so if I've missed some obvious info let me know. Or if this has been well covered in another thread if you could point me in the right direction that'd be great.

Cheers in advance.
Olly.

Just use PTFE tape.

I don't think I've fitted a shower valve with 3/4" BSP threads before, what make is it?

well i have never had a problem with loctite most threads is use it on , it also depends if your planning to drink the water from your shower head

Hi ojchurch and welcome:) its a personal preference thing mines ptfe regards turnpin

it also depends if your planning to drink the water from your shower head

Or drink the water from other taps connected to the same pipe runs throughout which particles could be free to travel.

And yeah ..are they 3/4" tails?

Just use PTFE tape.

I don't think I've fitted a shower valve with 3/4" BSP threads before, what make is it?

The shower I fitted came with bsp connectors. I ditched the connectors and bought a showerpl8te that the shower bar sust screwed onto with a rubber washer.

Just discovered locktite 55 after using ptfe for donkeys years.

It's funny stuff, not what I first thought (rolled up ptfe) but tiny fibres that are coated with a jointing compound.