Search the forum,

Discuss Indirect cylinder in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Q

Quiz

Yesterday I changed a 2 port valve to my indirect vented cylinder.
The fault was boiler noisy and boiling water coming out of the vent into the F&E Vessel.
There was a lot of debri sitting in the top of the valve. The pipework continued to the bottom entry to the indirect coil.
Initially every thing worked well.
However, now the fault has returned.
My thoughts are that there is more debri.
My question is this,how far would the debri have travelled? could it have gone through the coil, or is it likely to not go uphill?
Next question is should I try to clean it or just go somewhere (where) for a new cylinder and swap it over.

About me.... I am a "Plumber". By that I mean I did a 12 week training course 5 months ago and got the 6129 c&g. I won't be a real "Plumber" till I have had a few years experience and probably a few disasters. I just don't want this to be one of them as my Missus will never forgive me
So, hoover the pipes? or get another cylinder?

Gary.

Try re draining system to valve,remove and see if any more debre has collected at valve ,also check inside pump and valves,if so clean out and refill system applying some chemical cleaner,let run hot for a week and flush through

I should add that this fault only occurs when the hot water is on and not central heating. If the heating is on and firing the boiler the system runs well. So the blockage is somewhere between the hot water 2 port valve and the boiler.

Try re draining system to valve,remove and see if any more debre has collected at valve ,also check inside pump and valves,if so clean out and refill system applying some chemical cleaner,let run hot for a week and flush through
Thanks Puddle!
Does the chemical cleaner break down solid matter? what I saw looked like rust.

Last edited by a moderator: