Search the forum,

Discuss Soild Fuel Rayburn HTG in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

lovejoy

Hi guys fist post am hoping you may beable to help.
I am a fully qualified plumber and gas installer and have been working in the trade for the last 5 years on mainly new build property. I have never worked with solid fuel before. Now here is my problem:
I have been asked to look at a job where the guy wants to replace his current Rayburn, which just does cooking and HW, with one to run 4 or 5 rads upstairs. He currently has a Primatic cylinder running off this with HW only required downstairs. Now I know this will need replacing also as there is a largeish hole in the side currently patched with what looks like Denso and silicon!! :eek: The probem is he has already fitted the Htg flow and return pipework upstairs under the floors and laid new carpets and the airing cupboard is downstairs in a single storey extension. I am therefore thinking getting the header above the highest rad will be an issue, am I right in thinking this is correct as I think you cannot run unvented off solid fuel so vented will be required, therefore the header needs to be above he highest rad? I will struggle to get pipework to a tank in the main house roofspace now without ripping up new carpets. There is a small roofspace above the airing cupboard in which I can fit the header and it will be around level with the highest rad, will this be adequate? Also I will requite a cold storage tank, as the cold water is only required downstairs does it matter what hieght this is at? Finally I am not sure if any special accreditation is required to work on soild fuel?
Thanks for any help, will be very appreciated!! and sorry for lenghty post!!! :D
Cheers Dan.

Hi. There are a few issues.
1.Rayburns will heat rads but a lot of fuel to get good results