Search the forum,

Discuss Ideal Standard 55cm basin with semi ped in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

Laurence

Hello All,

I recently purchased the above basin with semi pedistal, I have already fitted the bath and the toilet (although toilet has to be changed because of manufacturing error)
I am not a professional plumber, more of a competent DIYer, I am confused by the following:
1. Why are the securing holes in the basin drilled at an angle? (about 45 degrees)
2. The basin weighs 17.5kg empty, will two M8 (biggest you can fit) bolts really hold it securely and safely to the wall? (solid brick)
3. Which to fit first, basin or pedistal?
4. Any hints on how to get the angle right for the raw plugs?

By the way, if anyone is fitting the Jasper Morrison Ideal Standard range of toilets there is a known fault. It is a casting fault which only shows up when you flush the unit. Water oozes out of the back of the pan through a casting hole. This does not show up when you check for waste leaks using just a bucket of water!
I spent hours thinking that I had a leak from the waste fittings!!!

best regards...........laurence

Hmm!

Normal way is to assemble basin and ped, try in position and mark through the basin holes onto the wall.

Drilling the holes at the right angle is always a bit of fun. I usually start off going straight then angling down bit by bit as I drill. But that is after years of doing it.

A number 2" (50mm) -10 (5) brass screw usually fits. Brown plugs and suitable bit. Put a bit of petroleum jelly on the screw threads before screwing, makes them easier to screw in. Don't force them in, the heads snap or turn off.