Search the forum,

Discuss Electrical or magnetic scale control in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't know whether this topic has been raised previously on this forum - apologies if it has. I would be most interested to know if anyone has any practical experience with the electrical or magnetic devices that claim to prevent or control scale in water systems. As a chemist, I cannot understand how these devices can possibly work and, indeed, for many years I worked for a company manufacturing chemicals for scale control in industrial systems and we looked into this area in case it might pose a threat to our business but concluded that any perceived improvement in scale control using these devices was just chance or imagination. However, being an open minded chap, I would be very interested to know if anyone has seen definite evidence that they work. Also, I have recently moved into a hard water area and a simple device that would prevent scale without chemical addition would be most welcome.

Search function is your friend , Snake Oil springs to mind . ( Physics part of me loves - Mystic forces at work )

They can't soften water . Manufacturers claim a reduction in hardness by 2-3 degrees. But if you water is 20 degrees Clark then 17-18 is still hard.
as for the claims that it stays in suspension. For how long?
some installers swear by them when fitted close to a Combi boiler or electric shower.

Hi Cello your post is very intresting to us - can you pm me Centralheatking