Discuss fast track courses in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mcmoby69

just read the post
icon1.gif
Dont get too excited !
never read anything as funny! it descended into a right good free for all! in my honest opinion anyone doing a 'fast track course' and willing to go out into the big wide world as a 'qualified' plumber must have a big pair of ging gangs and a very cheap public liability insurance that covers them for starting world war 3. yes i was an apprentice! after 3 years brewing up sweeping crap lugging tools crawling under floors( are you allowed to do that nowadays?) watching learning doing the job, after 22 years i am still learning. how can anyone seriously expect to go on their own after 8/10/12 weeks?well done for doing the course! but dont consider yourself 'qualified'
before the bullets start flying again. i have considered employing an apprentice but i have failed to find anyone with the right attitude. all they seem to want is qualified pay just for getting out of bed! maybe its just me?i do remember passing my C&G in '89 my boss rolled his eyes and said' * me i'll have to pay you full wage now!'
i was earning as much as my dad!! (bought my mum a new washing machine tho!) i stayed with my boss for 15yrs as a subby and still do gas work for him now. he is a great bloke(has his off days and moans like the rest of us)BUT as i have always said treat others like you would like to be treated.
the stories of solicitors and accountants leaving their job to start plumbing! ha ha ha !
in todays world most people seem to be out to make a fast buck , everywhere you look there are courses for everything. when people realise that plumbers do not drive porsches and eat caviar butties. it is the people who run the courses whoe drive porsches and eat .........

right gone on long enough !(sits back and waits)