Discuss Price work per day in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi im a sel employed plumber and have always quoted as per job and not on a day rate, somone heas asked me how much i charge per day as they have loads o little jobs that need doing. how much would you think is reasonable, im in north london/hertfordshire.

between 150-200 per day especially in london the most expensive place in the world to live

not now it about 3rd or 4th

the jobs you price, you minus materials which leaves your labour divided in to 8/10hr answer

if you price work has work for years don't fix it, only drop materials which leaves your rate

I work in West Sussex and charge £40 per hour presently - but intend to increase this to £45 per hour any day now. I don't have a 'day rate' as such, but of course if a job took me 8 hours (i.e. a 'day') I'd charge £320.

For jobs going over a day I give a bit of a discount, but I try to avoid jobs that will last more than 8 hours!!

This sounds rather expensive compared to what has been quoted in the posts so far, but usually my customers think they have got reasonable value.

£320 for an 8 hour job? Are you from Reactfast or something? If a job is going to take a few hours surley you work out a price for it? i.e. job thats gonna last a day £125 to £200 + price of materials.

Most of the jobbing plumbing is done by big firms who have probably a million pounds worth of advertising out in the market place, they are really only significantly in
competition with each other,

One man bands hardly measure in the scheme of things,

When I ran one of Londons emergency service companies I would find out on a daily
or even hourly basis what the competition was charging and drop or raise my prices
accordingly,

If any of you want to survive in this world you have to charge the going rate,

Right now looking around at the big boys it seems the going rate is £35-40 per Half
Hour..