Discuss Advice please on Electric Hot Water Cylinder and Header Tank in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Craig T

Hi,

I'm a novice, so please bear with me, and apologies if I'm using the wrong terms or not giving enough detail.

I would really appreciate any advice on the following:

I have an electric hot water cylinder (which typically heats the hot water on the night time cheap rate electricity, and which does this automatically during the night - it also has a back up boost / manual option too).

This is the only source of hot water in my place.

Above the hot water cylinder is a much smaller water tank, which I think feeds the hot water cylinder below it, and which I think is called a header tank?

Over the past few days, and since someone was around to change a tap for me (at which point he drained the hot water totally) I've heard a drid drip drip noise coming from this header tank, which was never there before.

I opened the lid of this header tank, and it's got cold water in it, and some kind of ball cock device, similar to that I've seen in my toilet.

I can see a drip of water coming in from the inflow pipe, which is constantly dripping water into the header tank.

I could also see an exit pipe too, which is above the current water level, and am assuming this is some kind of overflow pipe?

My questions are:

Why would the water be continiously dripping into the header tank, even when no taps have been used for hours, and when it never used to drip?

In time, will the drip mean the header tanks fills totally, and if so, will excess water be directed out of this header tank from what I think was the overflow pipe, and if so, where might this lead to?
What I need to do to correct / stop this drip?

Many thanks in advance

Craig

Last edited by a moderator:
:welcome: to the forum Craig :)