Search the forum,

Discuss Power shower and a single Grundfos Booster Pump in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

GeoPlumbing

Hello
I am a plumber and I have come across a problem that I need confirmation form someone out there that I am giving the right advice. Firstly I'm no newbie I've been doing plumbing for a very long time, but the good thing about the domestic plumbing is that you always come across something new to learn.
So here's the Problem:
A Vented Hot water cylinder with a cold water storage tank above it inside a cupboard of a one bedroom flat... all new.
The previous plumbers installed a 22mm single Grundfos Home Booster pump (PC: 1048) on the hot water services for the whole flat, on outlet of the hot water cylinder,approx 300mm away from the cylinder. This pump should be 2 meter after the cold water tank outlet and installed before the hot water cylinder.

Also there is an Aquastream power shower (has a built-in Pump) in the bathroom, connect to the same hot water services as the booster pump... therefore when you turn the power shower on, the booster pump also comes on.... therefore you have two pumps working simultaneously.

This is the tricky part... non of the other taps will allow hot water through unless you go to the bathroom and open the hot water on the Bath tap and there is always air in the system.

I think it is due to:
  • Two pumps on the same system causing conflict with each other
  • The booster pump being installed in the wrong place
  • The Plumber did no install a AA vent in the hot water services

My suggestion are simple:
  1. To replace the Home booster with a twin Negative booster pump (for hot and cold) and remove the power shower and install a Therm Shower mixer.
  2. Remove the booster pump... not sure if the kitchen tap will receive hot water with gravity feed.