Discuss Lockshield + wheelhead valves in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

flycop2000

I am replacing a couple of radiators in large room where the room stat is located. I have two spare lockshields from previous work. Can I use lockshields in place of the wheelhead valves? Are they they both the same inside, just different tops ? Does a wheelhead valve open up more than a lockshield to allow a greater flow of water into the radiator?
Sorry if theses are simple questions ? i'm not a heating engineer, just a keen DIYer. :)

Its still the reason for them though isn't it?

The idea being its awkward for the homeowner to adjust them and only a plumber can

Whether the installer has balanced the rads or not the purpose of the locksheilds remain the same

Strictly speaking, if you're changing valves on a radiator then you should be fitting TRVs in accordance with the building regulations.

I always thought that the radiators in the room with the thermostat should not have TRV's fitted ? :)

All my other radiators have TRV's.

Thanks to everyone for the quick replies. :):):):)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Lockshield + wheelhead valves in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics

Hoping somebody can help, So, in a nutshell… Standard 90s Westbury home – condensing boiler, pump, wall thermostat, etc etc... Normal, common or...
Replies
Views
Hi, Sorry if question already answered in previous posts, but I can't find a solution to the below: We recently moved house to a new home that...
Replies
Views
Hi - I'm a reasonably experienced DIY plumber but just can't work out why the last new rad I've installed is cold - would really appreciate your...
Replies
Views
  • Question
Hi there, I recently bought a bunch of Drayton Wiser Smart TRV heads. I wanted to install them on all of my radiators so that I have full control...
Replies
Views