Discuss Going in self employed with C&G in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

ward

Hello,
Hope you can advise. I currently work full time in the motor trade but have always wanted to be in the plumbing trade!
I am unable to give up work due to needing to be able to support my family!
Any way i would like to go self employed as a plumber i have found a local course that i can do at weekends with them and i would get a
City & Guilds Level 2 Technical Certificate - 6128 Heating & Ventilation, Domestic Heating
BPEC - Water Regulations 1999
Logic - Part L Energy Efficiency
Logic - Foundation Certificate In Basic Heating & Hot Water System Design & Specification
Logic - Leginella Prevention And Control
Electrical Part P Defined Scope 17th Edition Would this allow me to go self emplyed? Am i legally alloud to do this is what i mean so long as i only advertise that im C&G trained!
My plan is to advertise and work weekends and nights until things pick up! I am a practicall person anyway i have fitted my own bathrooms kitchen myself. So im not going into this with my eyes closed i know what things to expect!
I know alot of you dont agree with these courses but this is my only way to get in the trade...
Any advise and tips woould be brilliant.
Thank you in advance

Also if i did this then wanted to do my NVQ while im self enplyed could i do that? or do u have to work for someone else to obtain NVQ

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Ward
I think the main(first rung on the ladder) course to do is the C&G 6129 level 2.
You want to contact the various bodies within the sector:-
CIPHE(Chartered Institute Plumbing & Heating Engineers 01708 472791
JIB PMES(Joint Industry Board,Plumbing & Mechanical Engineering Services)Check the web for number.
Do a lot of research before you take the dive,and make the wrong decision or opt for the wrong course.