Discuss working pressure of gas? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Boyler

hi lads,
i am fairly new to the scene but maybe someone can fill me in on why it must be recorded when there is more of a drop than 19mlb of working pressure,between the meter and appliance when the burner pressure is ok what "really" is the problem. if that makes sence

hi lads,
i am fairly new to the scene but maybe someone can fill me in on why it must be recorded when there is more of a drop than 19mlb of working pressure,between the meter and appliance when the burner pressure is ok what "really" is the problem. if that makes sence

I always worked to the fact that 17mb working pressure was perfectly ok on most boilers unless the manufacturer species 19+mb is essential bud.

I'm not aware a reason to record 17/18mb working pressure?

Theoreticaly if you had a modern boiler with a zero governer connected to a large bag full of gas at 0 mbar the fan would suck the correct amount of gas through, (dont try that at home kids) I just tend to oversize the supply and make sure that the gas pressure is within what the mfrs want, the 1mbar drop over the installation isnt always achievable, for instance you can lose 2 mbar across the gas isolation valve inlet on a Vaillant.

Gas books say 21mb+-2 but if you read the MI's they will state what pressure they require. I nearly always install 28mm carcass and very rare see 1mm drop. as said, depends on boiler and where the inlet test reading is taken from before or after the gas valve.

You can quite legallly have only 15m/b working pressure just after meter so if pressure not there in first place,does not matter what size pipework you put in to boiler,at best all you will do is transfer the 15m/b working pressure avalible to the boiler