Search the forum,

Discuss Pipe fixings behind wall!! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Tappers

Sorry about the length of the question!

Hi,

I am a newbie to the forum and plumbing and really hope this isn't a stupid question or in the wrong place!

We moved into our place just over a year ago and off our bedroom there is an extension for an en-suite bathroom with toilet, sink and shower.

the shower I always hated as couldn't move in it. So... After learning how to fit compression fittings on copper from my father-in-law I thought I could replace the shower as my first plumbing experience.

Looked at pipes and there was a plastic (sorry have no technical names) pipe running from one of loft at the tanks to the other into the extension and then down in between the walls ( plaster board front and back) to where the electric shower was! There was a T piece that went horizontal to the shower to an elbow that came out of the wall to the shower unit. The other part of the T when down to under the floor boards with another elbow that then went onto copper pipe to feed the sink and toilet!

in my wisdom and with not much research I decided to replace all the plastic with copper ( partly also because I want it done properly and thought replacing it all would lengthen the life!).

Completed all the work after a lot of sweating and swearing ( I am too big really to fit in our loft :-( ) oh and turning the water on with an isolation valve open soaking the whole place and it pouring out on the room below :-(but..... Then read on an forum that compression fittings should never be used within walls or under floor boards!

i want it done properly to last as many years as possible and if we do decide to sell I don't want trouble as I read stories of it being illegal!

Should I pull it all out and get it done by a qualified plumber?

Just get someone to replace all the joints?