Search the forum,

Discuss Heatline Boiler - no power, blown fuses?? Help please in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

JoseGaf

Firstly apologies as I'm a complete novice to boilers....the things not working hence I'm having to learn!
Came home from honeymoon last week to find the boiler wasn't on, no power. Checked the power feed to the boiler and this was fine as was the 3Amp fuse. Oven the unit where the power cable fed to and found 2 small 2 Amp glass fuses blown. I replaced these and everything seemed to work again.....later that day for no obvious reason they blew again, and then again!
Only other problem that may be a contributing factor is that there is a water leak which keeps dropping the boiler BAR pressure, keeps needing topping up....perhaps water is the problem??

Any help/advice would be hugely appreciated please.

PS I know the boiler is not highly rated but we've only been in the house 3 months and I've got huge bills paying for my recent wedding so can't afford a new boiler....not yet anyway :(

Just tried another set of fuses just to watch and see what actually happens leading to the fuses blowing.....a couple of minutes after switching the power on and the boiler kicking into life I noticed smoke/steam from the '3 port valve motor' so obviously I turned the power off straight away........still no ideas if I'm looking at a repair or new combi boiler (gulp) ??!

Ahh!
Just when you mentioned the diverter it jogged the memory.
There is a common fault with these leaking at a seal and blowing the electrics. Needs new seal and the diverter rotated a bit to prevent any water running down again.

ah 6the diverter bush,aristons have this problem too as graham says you need a new bush and motor