Search the forum,

Discuss Baxi 105HE flame failure in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

towelhound

Dear all,

I'm going to preface this with the answer to the obvious question. I am not gas safe registered. Answering the second question, I do not do gas work on my boiler, but I am an electrical engineer, so I can fault find electronics etc. A family friend does any work that requires the burner unit opening.

So, the story of our 105HE.

1) It was already fitted when we moved into the house in April 2009. No problems.

2) We had building work done last year and as part of the building work, the boiler was moved by the fitter for the building company. No problems. Periodically had to top up the central heating pressure. Clearly this suggested something wasn't right.

3) About May this year, it started complaining, I think the pump light was flashing. Essentially the pressure was falling too low in the central heating. over pressure. Had a terrible GSE come out and try to fix it, he changed diverter valve diaphragm, "serviced" it by sticking a probe in the flue, claimed the over-pressure valve had failed. (It had, but he didn't identify the reason and sure enough it carried on blowing and leaking pressure.) Terrible GSE stumped and asked if we wanted a new boiler.

4) Eventually casually chatted with family friend who came up with the solution. The expansion vessel had gone. Terrible GSE replaced it, the last bit of work he did for us. That problem went away.

5) Next and current problem. Periodically, the boiler needs resetting, as it goes through all of its fire up checks, starts igniting but doesn't light. This happens 3 times, then it needs resetting. Eventually, you get lucky and it ignites, after any number of resets.

6) A seemingly key piece of information. When the boiler is hot, it always reignites. If it is cold, it is quite likely that it won't.