Discuss New Plumber NEEDS HELP!!!! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
V

vannie25

Hey guys,I am a 27 year old man who live in Taunton,Somerset who has just finished a level 2 city and guilds evening plumbing course whilst working nights in some crappy supermarket.I really want to get out of this dead end job and start a job which i would enjoy with prospects and a job i would not be embrassed to tell people what I do for a living.From the start of the year I have been sending out cover letters/c.v to plumbing companies in bristol and surrounding areas and have so far send out around 30 letters.I have put in the letters I would be willing to relocate to acheive my goal of becoming a plumber,I looking to relocate within 50 miles of my daughter which leaves me with a big scope of area whichs includes big towns and cities(Bristol,Bath,Yeovil,Wells).But so far I have had no responses and I am beginning to wonder if I have made the wrong career choice,maybe my age is holding me back,am i too old to be taken on as a new starter(27 years old).

I would appreciate if any one had any hints or tips and if they knew any one my age who got in to the trade.

Thanks for your time
Jonathan

Iam not saying that in the letters but i would want to work full time even on min wage just to pay the rent.Do u think the only way is of getting a chance is to offer my self to work for free for a couple of days a week.

What companies have you tried in the Bristol area, I live in Bristol and may be able to help.

I know the company I work for has a site of around 60 flats/commercial units but its only just ticking over at the moment, may be a possibility in the near future.

Because I don't live in the Bristol area I've just relied on goggle,is there any big companies maybe i could try.
Can I ask did u start plumbing straight out of school at 16yrs or did u start later on in life