Search the forum,

Discuss Why feed and vent? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Toughtools

I'm new to the form, so Hi everyone.
Can somebody explain why, with a modern boiler in an open-vent system, both the feed and vent are necessary. Surely the feed would cope with any expansion.

I'm afraid it wouldn't. Steam molecules are 1600 times the size of water molecules. The system is designed to overflow into the cistern and if this is filled too much, then itself overflows outside the house.

Hi. As dontkall says steam can be produced. How ever during normal working of a system, on heating and cooling the volume of water within the system varies. Say 25 litres when heated would reduce to 24 on cooling (4%). This expansion / contraction is catered for in the cistern and via the cold feed. (thats the reason you may find the ballvalve arm bent, to provide the room for expansion with out overflowing. The vent allows air to be purged from the system on filling and in when draining. In the event of access heat produced by energy source and not controlled (boiler) the steam generated can escape to the atmosphere and replaced by cooler water entering the system, offering a modicum of safety to both the system and occupants of building. Having said all that there was a period when it was approved to tee the cold feed into the vent pipe on heating systems. Now engineering is employed to control new systems, more than conventional water physics (it cheaper) Good Luck

Any one remember the boiler explosions 1946/7 winter ??

Mostly caused by the boiler boiling dry, then water entering a red hot boiler, flashing to steam with rather more than a pop !!

This was put down to an exceptionally cold winter, bad insulation in the roof, all steel piping, a direct hot water system, with a steel hot water tank/cylinder