Search the forum,

Discuss purging info in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

mutley racers

Esteemed
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Subscribed
Hi guys, i have just read a book today which suggests that you do not need to do any calculations on domestic systems when purging. You just purge 0.035 m3. Is this correct?

Cheers

Hi guys, i have just read a book today which suggests that you do not need to do any calculations on domestic systems when purging. You just purge 0.035 m3. Is this correct?

i have read a gas book many times that doesnt suggest this, is states it as a legal requirment, ( depending on meter type and pipe size) why are you reading such a book?

Hi kirkgas, i am reading this in the Gas installation technology 2nd edition by R.D. Treloar.

I am reading it as i am studying my NVQ3 and will eventually be taking my CCN1.

I quote 'to successfully purge a gas installation first you need to determine the purge volume. For the smaller more traditional domestic gas installations utilising pipework upto 28mm and incorporating a domestic sized gas meter, no calculation is undertaken and if a G4 or E6 electronic metric meter was installed the purge volume would simply be 0.01 m3. Where the older imperial U6 gas meter is installed this volume would be 0.35 m3. However, where the system employs an extensive amount of pipework and/or pipework greater than 28 mm with possibly a G10/U16 gas meter, the purge volume would need to be calculated; if the total purge volume is found to be over 0.02 m3 then the gas should not be permitted to discharge freely into the room'.

You got an old book and what kirk is telling u is correct always calculate your purge vols. theres also a crucial amount now if below u can purge to air if over u have to purge to flame.Try and get ur self an upto date book.

You will be expected to keep up with the changes when u have your acs

Last edited by a moderator: