Search the forum,

Discuss Looking for gas safe/pressurised system, solar thermal plumber Lincoln, Lincolnshire in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

Funky

Hi,

I'm a billy basic plumber and I am upgrading my house (only moved here a year ago). It is a small 1980's detached house with twin tanks in the loft open vented system. boiler on outside wall in kitchen and immersion in airing cupboard on first floor.
I'm hitting a wall with what I wanted to achieve but no one will give me a straight answer why, so maybe someone on the forum will?

I've had various quotes and the focus of many plumbers seems to be to put in a combi boiler, which is not what I was asking or looking for.

I wanted to upgrade the house and try to make it in some way future proof, so was thinking of installing a pressurised system, such as a megaflow? I want the option of upgrading to either thermal hot water or a full PV thermal system, so I need to keep a pressurised cylinder in either the airing cupboard or in the loft?

I have removed a lot of surface pipe work to the rads on the ground floor and put them in the walls (3 x rads) because of problems getting a plumber, I had to have these plastered over before pressure testing (yes I know, but the plasterers were booked and I couldn't cancel them).
most of the flooring on the first floor (tongue and groove chip board), has been taken up, so the majority of the c/h pipework is accessible.

A local plumber has just completed a pressurised system for a development of houses using a kit made by Viessman which is a solar thermal system, so I contacted him, thinking he would be up for the project but after talking to him on the phone, he asked if I'd thought of a combi!