Search the forum,

Discuss Has anyone set up in business recently in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

cwrplumbing

Hi guys has anyone set up in business recently and if so how successfull have you been in getting your customers.

I set up 6 months ago it's going well just starting to pick up now. I kept my ear open for any work painting hanging doors and such and just told them I went to college doing plumbing now all my work is plumbing pretty much.

What is the best way to get customers ? I have been working in the plumbing & heating industry for the past 15 years. Iam very good at what i do when it comes to plumbing & heating. I would like to know how to make it in the self employed world as i have always worked for a company, Anyone got any constructive ideas on how to make that transition?

Of course mate it is very fulfilling to work for yourself. The best way for me is to walk around in my work trousers live and breath it don't turn off at 5 turn off to sleep even then if you forgot something get up and go write it down. I know it's vague I will try and give you some more tips...Alot of people on here say don't advertise in the yellow pages waste of money they much prefer local paper. things like "immediate attention , no job too small 15 years experience reasonable rates." sounds good. Look around at other tradesmen like electricians see what stands out to you. Speak to other tradesmen tell them your a plumber just starting out and you will subcontract for them for cheap just to get started. Joiners and builders subcontract the most I've noticed. get a list of local tradesmen ring them up. Hope it helps dude.