Search the forum,

Discuss Connecting a new tap to a soldered pipe in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
O

otaxia

I am trying to fix a new mixer tap to my kitchen sink. I have removed the old screw but the pipes are still connected. The connections on the new taps flexible pipes are threaded, however there is no thread to connect them to on the old copper pipes, which appear to be soldered connections.

Can anybody advise on what I need to do to get the two connected? I am a novice when it comes to plumbing so any advice much appreciated.

Thanks, Rob

You'll probably need to go to a merchant with your new taps, Rob. It sounds like you need male iron to copper and possibly a couple of brass bushes.

Cut the pipes. then use two of these onto your copper. Your hoses should be 1/2, but may be 3/8
Conex Male Coupler 302 15mm x ½" DZR | Compression Coupling | NoLinkingToThis

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    16.8 KB · Views: 82
Thanks for your responses. I can get hold of them connectors tomorrow. When you say 'use' two of them onto the copper, do you actually mean 'fuse'? As in solder the connection to the copper pipe?

Thanks for your responses. I can get hold of them connectors tomorrow. When you say 'use' two of them onto the copper, do you actually mean 'fuse'? As in solder the connection to the copper pipe?
Might just be better to get a local plumber! :coffee:

The time you waste running around, hoping that you get correct fittings, buy tools to do job, spend all day trying to fit them , & all night mopping up water, just call in a plumber, about 1hr should cover it, unless other problems are found.

And you might even find the Plumber to be a good bloke!

Not all of us are scary - although some of us stink.

And guess what - we are insured for the work we perform.