Search the forum,

Discuss braided flexable hose in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

purpleronnie

Hi guys,
I'm no expert at plumbing but can manage small diy tasks.
Having fitted a new bathroom suite i have to move my radiator about 6 inches. My question is could i use compression braided flexable hose, the only reason is it's the fastest option.

thanks
darren

Last edited by a moderator:
I guess you could but it's a bit naff.

Can't you use two compression elbows with 6 inches of pipe between?

Thanks for the reply guys, the flexi hoses would be under the floor so out of sight.
As i said it's only because it's the fastest/easy'est option.
I know they are mainly used for hot and cold water feeds but was unsure if they would be suitable for use in a central heating system.

I wouldn't use flexis under floorboards - seen too many flexis chewed by mice.

Can't you do it with brass compressions or plastic push-fits?

If you want speed over price then I suppose you could go down that road.
Make sure your joints are sealed with a dab of boss white though.
Otherwise go Hepworth pushfit which, if put together correctly, are a sure fire bet.
rob

From your replies i guess it's ok but not ideal to use flexible hose. Thanks for all your replies.

darren

Must admit seen to many of these leak. But you can of course use them if you want.

They are not designed to be fitting on heating systems,the constant high hot water temperature will effect the rubber tube inside the steel flexi casing ,the rubber will perish and become britle over a few years and at best leak or just burst

ok guys my minds made up, no flexi pipes on the central heating.
Better to be safe than sorry

Thanks for all your comments.

If they are tap flexis, they are likely only rated to 60 degrees c (ish), so they will soon degrade with the higher temperatures in a heating circuit.

Not worth the risk in any way, not worth the leaks.