Search the forum,

Discuss Mains water pressure reducing vale for boiler? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

ecswtrav

Hi All,

Hoping you can advise. I'm no expert on the boiler front but i'm trying to figure something out. I have an Ideal istor boiler with a vented cylinder and boiler all in the one unit. The boiler has a shocking reputation but touch wood it's been great for 2 years since moving into the house apart from a recent pump change.
Anyway, before the new pump and since then I'm not too sure if the flow rate out of the taps is what it should be. We have recently had the old lead mains replaced and I was hoping for better water flow out of the taps and in showers but there is no difference at all. The flow is ok but it certainly isn't powerful. The piping throughout seems to be 22mm.
At the new mains there is a PRV with a gauge. This sits at 2 bar and on reading the boiler manual it has to limit the water to 2 bar for the boiler to work apparently? I tweaked the valve to release more water pressure but on doing so noticed the boiler started leaking water from the tundish assuming a valve was giving way due to the pressure increase? The taps etc did have a lot more flow though! On reducing the pressure on the PRV there is no leaking from the tundish but the flow rate is back to being 'so so'.
So, is there any way to increase the flow of water from the boiler or is it performing how it should be? The boiler is situated in the basement and there are 2 floors above that and a small basement conversion with a shower in. I can understand the top floor struggling - it's a really low flow rate up there and the mixer shower operates like an old electric one. But even the kitchen sink just offers a nice steady medium flow?
Can anyone offer any suggestions for increasing the flow rate or is it simply the boiler limitations and I'll have to live with it? Thanks a lot