Search the forum,

Discuss Hunter Genova Pipework in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

I came across this for the first time yesterday, i have seen something similiar in the past when i was an apprentice but that was a long time ago.

Just thought that i would put this up so as to help anyone out there that may come across it. Its plastic pipe that takes cold main, in this instance it was also taking the hot from the combi which had been converted some time ago, i dont know if pressurised hot water bodes well with this type of system but it seemed to have stood the test of time...that was until i had to work on it.

I was changing bath taps, the bath panel was a pig to come off and then i was greeted with this on a Friday afternoon haha. A quick google of it and i was informed that it was pipework still used in America but used for a little while here in Britain. I ended up cutting it and repiping a decent section of it so that i only had one coupling on the plastic.

I used a 22mm compression fitting, used my gland pliers just to take off some excess paint and after a little persuasion the fitting went on, the plastic even took a hep insert which i put in just to give it a bit of rigidness for the olive to bite to along with (of coarse, because we use it everywhere) PTFE for good measure.

When everything was said and done, the fitting worked perfectly and i was able to continue fitting the taps, the cold never needed altered because it stood up to me working on it which i was quite impressed by.