Search the forum,

Discuss Grant Oil Combi DHW ok - But no CH... Help appreciated. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

nr0

Go easy on me please, im new to this !!
I have a Grant Oil Combi 90 V3 MAX.
Its around 4yrs oil, and other than needing to replace the diaphragm once or twice, its been trouble free.
Up until a slightly cold snap this week, when i noticed the CH wasnt working.

Ive removed the flow switch from the diverter valve, and this seems to be operating as it should (spindle pushed out when hot water tap is turned on).
This activates the flow switch which fires up the boiler for DHW.
Ive also removed and replaced with a loop the room stat cables, to eliminate that.
I also today, flushed out the system incase it was down to a blockage or poor flow (what came out was surprisingly clean, some discolour, but not sludgey).

The only other thing ive noticed - that doesnt seem right, but im not sure.
The pump seems to be running most of time, and is running hot.
Im not sure if this is related - but somewhere along the line, the boiler isnt been told to fire up when there is a demand for CH.

Any suggestions appreciated.
(My old boiler had a motorsied diverter valve, this boiler doesnt seem to - just the housing for the diaphragm which also has the flow switch mounted on it).

Thank You

The switch on the end of the diverter is a dual microswitch and not a flow switch, First of all you need to make sure the real flow switch on the incoming mains inside the boiler is not stuck in the on position, this can be quite common. Disconnect the flow switch terminals inside the control panel, it should be marked and easy to find. If the flow switch is a problem by disconnecting it you will allow the boiler to go to CH mode.