Discuss gas safe register probation site visit in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

garry38

hi there im a plumber / gas engineer and recently went self employed and got my own gas safe registration.
Now after working for 3 months gas safe want to visit one of my jobs to inspect my work.
Well my question is are they strict on everything such as if the working pressure is slightly more than 1mbar of difference between meter and appliances etc on say a new heating system.
do they ask lots of questions? is it like an exam?
do they expect you to go around radiators with thermometers and a flow cup at taps when they are there?
I wnt to be prepared and ready for the inspection.

Beleive it all depends how you wen't about getting your license. Did u serve a apprentaship? or just get the evidence and buy in.

Mine was straight forward, only one question he asked! Didnt ask for evidance, wanted me to go through Reg26(9) and tada, he was off.

i served a 4 year apprenticeship in plumbing and mostly only install heating systems cookers and fires. i dont really do many servicing of appliances or safety checks etc.
what i mean is does he have you taking burner pressures and gas rating etc and checking working pressures etc

im in scotland aswell so reg 26 and tada might be english thing ?

Last edited by a moderator:
my check was in june and I took my assessor to a boiler install I did the week before. He watched me do let by test and pressure checks on the valve/pipework, then did a gas rate on the boiler, asked about pressure drops allowable on the meter as the system stood then back home for coffee/tea. Simples Dont panic they are not trying to catch you out just make sure you are safe.

Exactly same as mine, except i did it on a fire so the obvious flue flow checks and spillage were necasary.