Search the forum,

Discuss Does your website work for you? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarkAqua

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
I'm testing the water at going self employed this year. I have started getting fairly busy now but not enough to make the plunge - I don't advertise at the moment so all work is word of mouth!

currently working as mech supervisor for a firm, but my background is domestic and I've never left this side of the industry completely so that won't be an issue. I will be doing both sides - commercial and domestic as I have contacts in both.

Ive been searching the local plumbers to where I am and all the ones coming top on Google have almost no web presence what so ever and what is there is very poor content Etc.

My my question really is- how much work do you get from your website? I know word of mouth is key to long term business success but I'm talking initially, is it worth getting one made up professionaly and will it bring the work in?

any help of course is appreciated.

I've got a free website and it's not the best bit says what I need it to. It doesn't bring in huge amounts of work but when I send fliers out they can go and look at it. Around me I think around me word of mouth is best.

Wether or not a professional site would bring in more I don't know I think getting top of google is tops.

My website, domain name and email cost me £28.78 a month. If my website got me one job a month it would already be paying for itself.

My website gets me more than one job a month.... no brainer.

all advertisement is key and like you say having a web presence is important, i can safely say since launching mine 4 months ago its benefited my income :)

It's worth having one, we get about 4-5 enquiries a month through ours.