Discuss Do you think I'm qualified?? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all...first post so be gentle...

With some many discussions about fast track courses...I'm just after some of your opinions whether you think I'm a qualified Gas Engineer?

I have completed a BPEC Gas Foundation course which consisted of 26 days (1 day a week) of theory and practical covering: General gas safety training... installation of pipework, installation and maintenance of boilers, cookers, fires, warm air units and water heaters.

The requirement of passing the course (other than final exams) as a Cat 3 entrance (no formal plumbing qualification) is to show 140 days of photographic evidence of practical on-site jobs covering all appliances and services. i.e :

boiler service = 1/2 day
gas fire install = 1 day
boiler repair = 1 day
central heating install = 5 days ..... and so on..

In total it has taken me around 12 months working 5 days a week on-site to complete this portfolio and for everything to be signed off and finished.

It took another 3 months working while waiting until I felt comfortable to book my ACS exams.

I am now crrently sitting my ACS: CCN1, CENWAT, CPA1, HTR1 & CKR1

I have now passed my CCN1 theory today...and the CCN1 practical and modules commences next week (which I'm quite confidence I'll pass)

Here's the question....after 15 months work experience, BPEC Gas Foundation and ACS qualification. Do you think I'd be classed as a reputable Gas Engineer....or simply a "fast tracker" ??...or even maybe something in between?

Any feedback will be appreciated.

Dave

Last edited:
If you have been doing heating /plumbing for less than five years then i gauge you as apprentice then improver ,in all honesty have not got time of day for anyone who never left school to be a plumber ,,,,but thats just my opinion of fast track .