Discuss DFE fire lightheaded cause?? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

aligorgon

Hi guys am new to the forum, I am a Pipefitter turned Service engineer, with UPA1A and UPA1B gas quals.

I have also got my gas fires, cookers etc but don't work on these much as I mainly work on boilers and water heaters in commercial premises.

I have at my home a DFE fire which I hardly use due to the cost of running it. However, when I do put it on I can't help feeling a little light headed.

I have a CO detector in the room which picks up nothing, and have performed a FGA and CO room safety check. OK i get a bit of CO when I stick the FG probe almost in the flame but nothing if I move it say 5 inches above the flame and all around the surrounding area.

The oxygen level in the room never drops below 20.8 %.

Spillage testing and flue flow are fine and i don't get any spillage or back flow, and a i get no drop whatsoever doing a tightness test.

I am doing all these tests with all windows and doors shut.

Am at a bit of a loss and wondering if anyone has had a similar issue. My missus reckons its in my head as I fitted the fire and i'm paranoid, but we are looking to rent the house out soon and even though i have completed the landlord cert. I don't want to rent the property without finding a solution or disconnecting the fire.

Do you have purpose provided ventilation in the room? 100 cm2 comes to mind for these off hand.

I would reccomened if your going to rent it out, having the fire disconnected.

It's far safer. And less work on the LLGSC

yes, the only descrepancy i could find was the inlet pressure... the fire asks for 20mbar +- 1 whereas I have 24mbar at the inlet, but surely i would be getting more CO on my FGA if this was that critical...?