Discuss Career change advice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Gerard M

Not the usual career change thread. I've been doing installs now for 6 years and I just seem to be enjoying it less and less. Pretty much at the stage now where the only time I dont mind my job is when it's a straight forward combi swap. I'm 27 and dont have anything else to fall back on and have been considering going back to college to do mechanical engineering or something similar. Only downside with this is it seems my only option is full time college for a year as I cant see any part time or even courses available. I think I'd be stupid to quit my job to go back to college but I dont see any alternative ways to get a start. Has anyone else left the trade for something similar? Is there any other career paths where my skillset would be interchangable and sought after? Any advice is much appreciated.

Perhaps try getting in touch with a large industrial/manufacturing company. Down here we have Boots the chemist in Nottingham and Rolls Royce in derby both offer training within the organisation. I know Royces allow easy sideways movement with retraining. So for example yo could join as a plumber, then move into another role from there.

There might be something along those lines near you?

Moving to an employer in one role, then re-training with them for another, as suggested above, is almost certainly the best and least risky route.

Otherwise, you might consider the Open University, but with them, or any other college, you are going to be trying to get a job, newly qualified, in a new field seven or eight years behind the normal age.

Whatever you decide, the best of luck with the future.

Hiya