Discuss brand new "old" boiler! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jimbob7

heh! heh! just got myself a real bargain! An Ideal Elan boiler which has never been out of its box - been stored in a warehouse for 25 years. Ive been trawling the net for 12 months trying to find a heat exchanger for mine which i installed 23 years ago & has been a great boiler but has developed very annoying kettleing noises in recent years.
My other option was to fit one of the modern condensing pieces of junk that, yes use less gas, but will cost me a fortune in the long run due to their inherent unreliability & short life expectancy! this is why Ive put up with the racket for so long!
The old Elan has had one new gas valve ( £15 ebay), 2 thermocouples ( £5 B&Q) & a thermostat ( £7 ebay)- beat that for 23 year reliability!

Im thinking about making the "new" one a sealed system, does anyone think this could be a problem? - regarding the rads & pipework I mean, not the boiler - I know it is designed for sealed system as an option.

heh heh heh ,

welcome to the forum ,

seems you are doing ery well repairing your boiler and doing all the work around it !

mery holidays to you and your love once :)

read the mi instructions

Hey jimbob7 ... You could always pressure test your existing system first B4 fitting the replacement? I'd advise on at least replacing all the rad valves though, TRV's are a good idea! Hopefully you're GSR or know someone well enough to fit the new/old one for you :)

Have a kettle free new year :)

yes, thats a good idea about pressure test first. Have fairly new TRV's anyway.