• Welcome to PlumbersForums.net - The international plumbing advice forum. Professional plumbers sharing advice with fellow plumbers and DIY alike. Register for free today!

Discuss Boiler overheating High Temps in the Water Underfloor Heating Installations area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mossy007

Reaction score
I have a overheating issue very few days with my boiler when the UFH is on have to reset CH and HW all working perfect. My UFH is polypipe with a Baxi boiler. I have had a baxi engineer out to look at the boiler who has advised that the UFH needs balancing as the heat from boiler is not dispersin. I have also been advised that maybe installing a pipe thermostat on the return flow pipe. I am a complete novice guys. Any help is appreciated. Quick pick of manifold attached.

A004516D-BBBE-4B1F-9A62-978450DBB673.jpeg

Chalked

Plumber
GSR
Reaction score
When your boiler fires. The heads on the manifold have not opened. The boiler has nowhere to pump , so overheats. An auto bypass will allow the flow of water to be continuous.
Modern manifold controls have a delay timer, to allow the heads to open before the boiler and pump kick in. The heads can take 5 minutes to open.

OP
M

Mossy007

Reaction score
When your boiler fires. The heads on the manifold have not opened. The boiler has nowhere to pump , so overheats. An auto bypass will allow the flow of water to be continuous.
Modern manifold controls have a delay timer, to allow the heads to open before the boiler and pump kick in. The heads can take 5 minutes to open.
Can you please advise if this is something I can do myself? Sounds like I need a plumber out to sort it out is this correct? Thanks in advance

Chalked

Plumber
GSR
Reaction score
Does the underfloor work ok? As polypipe thermostatic mixing valves are renowned for sticking.
The system would need looking at to determine if a bypass would cure your problem.