Search the forum,

Discuss Vanity unit overflow / waste.... in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
I

IanB

Hi everyone,

Newbie here, any help appreciated. Was in the trade for 20 odd years but moved into FM (ok, I know....):wacko: so am a bit rusty but still do everything around the house etc.

I have a cupboard mounted vanity basin (Qualitex Eden 40) which has a leaking waste. House is only 4 years old and it must have been an issue since new as it's covered in silicon etc.....

Anyway, I've stripped it all out to start afresh. It's pretty basic but the basin doesn't have a cast-in overflow. It's been fitted with a slotted click waste and an overflow tube that joins to a plastic ring that fits between the 1.1/4" nut and the basin base. It was leaking from the waste and I've remade all that with new washers, sealed thread etc and that's fine. What I can't find is a new overflow ring and tube assembly - the part that goes through the basin with the chrome ring on is cracked. No makers name on it and it needs to go through a basin wall of around 1" thick. I've been onto Qualitex who reckon they don't provide the waste kit as part of the unit (I doubt this but....).

Wonder if anyone knows of such a part?

Cheers.

Welcome to the forum's Ian...try the MacAlpine website...regards Turnpin:welcome:

It's called a banjo waste fitting. Might be easier to replace the lot.

image.jpegimage.jpegimage.jpeg

Thanks to all. In response.....

Agree it's a banjo fitting. However the overflow fitting is odd.

It's almost the same as an overflow elbow but the chrome decorative ring has a male threaded tail long enough to go through the basin wall, which screws into the female elbow show in the 2nd picture. Obviously it's made of the softest material known to man and has given up completely.

The banjo fitting is attached to a normal click clack waste so no need for a chain etc.