Discuss Suitable replacement boiler. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Goinker

Please excuse what might be a silly question as I'm a 'newbie' on here, but I'm shortly intending to replace a Worcester Bosch 230 RSF combi of about 1995 vintage. It's still doing it's job heating-wise, but hot water output is only around 8 litres/minute which isn't much good as I'm about to replace a bath with a shower which has a 'monsoon' shower head so doubt it'll be able to keep up. I like the supposed reputation of Vaillant, and wondered if one of the Ecotec plus range with the extra cylinders in the back might give me the 'back-up' for the shower, but I'm open to advice for a reliable replacement. Around 15 litres/minute hot water output would seem to be what I need., and a bit higher central heating output wouldn't go amiss. I'm an Electrician, but I'm required to do a fair amount of water plumbing as part of my job, although I won't touch gas work. My intention is to replace the boiler myself (I've done a couple previously) and just get a local Gas Safe installer to do the gas pipework and commission the new boiler. There is no filter on the system presently, but I intend to flush and fit one as part of the job. Any/all advice gratefully received.
Cheers,
Goinker.

I'm shortly intending to replace a Worcester Bosch 230 RSF combi of about 1995 vintage. It's still doing it's job heating-wise, but hot water output is only around 8 litres/minute
The flow rate is determined by the incoming cold water from the mains. Installng a larger boiler will not give you a faster flow rate.