Search the forum,

Discuss Keston Boiler C36 - Pressure drop in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

Katie2810

Hi,

I'm new to all of this central heating and boiler business (this is my first home) and I need some help please!

I have a Keston C36 Boiler that is about 4 years old (was in place when I bought the flat but as its a new build I think thats about right). It has been serviced every year and is actually due one in the next couple of months.

One Sunday night (3 days ago) I came home and the boiler was flashing an error code (i think it was 37) I looked it up and it said it was low pressure, so following the instructions I topped up the boiler to 1.4. I had the heating on shortly afterwards and once it turned off and totally cooled it then stabilised at 1.3 when I checked on Monday morning. I didn't have any heating on until Tuesday night although I did use hot water and it stayed at 1.3. However this morning, Wednesday (after I had the heaqting on for an hour or two on Tuesday night), after the system has cooled down its now dropped to 1.2. So it seems like if there's no heating on it doesn't drop but if the heatings on it does (sorry if that's a really obvious statement but I know nothing about boilers).

I have checked for any obvious leaks at radiators and around the boiler but I cannot see anything. I have looked online and people say check the PRV but as I am in a second floor flat in 3 floor building I have no idea where this would be. I have left tissue around any connections to see if I discover anything when I go home tonight.

Obviously I could call out the man who does my service early to come look at it but thought I would see if there is anyone who can help or advise me here first.

Also, I know its only dropped .2 overall but is that a lot of water, will it cause major damage?

Thank you (sorry for the essay!!)