Search the forum,

Discuss installation calculations in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

bob the plumber

Hello,

Im hoping one of you qualified guys or newbies can help. 4 years ago i decided to invest my hard earned money into becoming a plumber so i signed onto a very expensive plumbing course which was 7 months full time college. 4 years down the line now, Im gas qualified going through my ACS as a Cat 2 student, i was fortunate in that I worked hard and ended up working for a good time served guy who offered me a job after my course. I now know a huge amount on both gas/oil/lpg, ch systems and general plumbing through working . I know how to pipe up a house properly, pipe sizing, heating calcs etc.. HOWEVER, as much as i know in my head... i have never read it in a book and that is something i would like to do, to cement what i have learnt on the job, the boss doesnt know what i should buy, hes been in the game 25 years and books get updated.

Which book or books are out there that tell you specifically how to calculate pressure loss over a hot and cold install and heat loss of an installation, which book tells you that for that size installation you will require that size pump, which book tells you that on a 7 bedroom house your probably better putting in an 's' splan than a 'y' plan and what bore pipe to use on your primary ch pipes, which book tells me that if i have a heat loss of 1.83kw over 24hrs on a 300ltr megaflow solar eco over 24hrs what does that equate to in degrees C. When i do anything on the job now i know what im doing is right because it works, but why does it work??? Its like gravity hot water?? I have 9 meter head = 0.9bar but after the drop from the tank i have a 10 meter horizantal run under the floor and back up to a tap how much pressure loss will i suffer through that leg.