Search the forum,

Discuss Confirmation needed! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

martinhurley

Hey all. im a plumbing and heating engineer that mainly deals with installs but my mother in-laws boiler is playing up. the heating is constantly on even tho the room stat is not calling for heat. i have come to the conclusion that its the diverter valve sticking as when i tap the valve it shuts off. then when its on hw only and the hot tap goes on the heating will go on aswell and not shut off, so could this be the micro switch also?
its a baxi 80 eco.

Had the same problem in my own house

The actuator of the three way valve was sticking and providing a live to the boiler. I had a drayton valve with removable head so i took it off and played around with the actuator arm, freed it up and now its ok.

You can try this or you might need to replace it

ps im an installer too!!!!!

stuck diverter more than likely when it runs to ch is the ch demand light on?

yeah the demand light is on gas man. will i need to replace it or can it be fixed?

gasmanxxr1 ur problem sounded like its on a system, this is a combi. thanks for the reply tho!

oh ok this it what it looks like imagesCAJLWDON.jpg

its a 80 eco,if that had jammed you would get ch in dhw mode BUT not the ch demand light on,for the light to be on it needs a electrical signal any leaks near the ntc or from the main heat exchanger? you could also have a sticking flow switch

its a 80 eco,if that had jammed you would get ch in dhw mode BUT not the ch demand light on,for the light to be on it needs a electrical signal any leaks near the ntc or from the main heat exchanger? you could also have a sticking flow switch