Search the forum,

Discuss changing direction in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mikeybloy

basically i have got my NVQ level 2 in domestic gas installations and a Level 2 in expanding pipework skills in plumbing. i need some advice on where to go from here and i am very insterested in fitting bathrooms (plastering and tiling also) i need some advice on how to acheive my goal by more experienced people. i want to gain experience with others before i go anywhere. has anyone been in the same position and know what do i have to do to pursue my dream?

Im not experienced either, just 4 years, but i have always thought electrical qualifications sit nicely alongside plumbing and gas. Although i havnt entered the electrical world yet

thanks for your oppinion. i just dont know where i can go from here as im just fitting white goods at the moment and always wanted to get into the trade but havent had a long shot at it due to the recession. i have fitted sinks, many radiators, showers and done a bit of maintenance to taps, ball valves etc and thought that bathroom fitting for me would be a nice direction to go?

If your earning a few quid doing what you are doing now then I would stick with it for now and try to increase your workload.
It would be so easy for you to spend lots of money gaining qualifications and get no reward for it.

If your earning a few quid doing what you are doing now then I would stick with it for now and try to increase your workload.
It would be so easy for you to spend lots of money gaining qualifications and get no reward for it.

Thanks for you reply, with my qualifications im just not sure where to go or what i can do? and i find property maintenance very interesting so thought up the bathroom idea and progress to different aspects as i go along. obviously gain experience from others before i do so.