Discuss Thinking of career change in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Bof

Hi, having just been made redundant after 21 years I find myself at the grand old age of 38 looking at possibly retraining to become a plumber. Is there anyone who could give me any sound advice positive or negative on me doing a course ran by the plumbing academy it appears legit and worth while doing(nvq2) but that said after doing a spot of researching the general consensus is these fast track plumbing courses are no substitute for time on site... That said I can't do that being a 38 year old aprentice so if I want to find an opening then this would appear to be my only option? For the record I have no clue about plumbing i will be a total novice. Well thanks to anyone who has taken the time to read this and i thank in advance anyone who replies.

most folks wanting to move into plumbing normally have some idea of property renovation or diy if they are your age. consider whether you would want you coming onto your house and workng on your systems for money before you go any further and spend money on a course

Why plumbing if you have no clue? Not a dig, an honest question.

Use the search function on the site, used to be hundreds of posts like yours, probably thousands now.

Its allright paying your big money to the training providers, but are they going to get you through your portfolio for your nvq?