Search the forum,

Discuss Renewables or commercial. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

mfgs

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
I am always looking to learn more and expand my opportunities for getting more work in. I am thinking I would like to either go down the renewables route, or the commercial gas route. Any suggestions from guys that have done either as to how it has impacted on their business, do you enjoy it?

I used to do commercial plumbing but never had anything to do with the gas side of things. I have no experience in renewables at all, and unfortunately I dont know anyone who does as I would like to actually be involved in a couple of installs to see whats involved before spending lots of money on courses etc. Are there any good cheap courses which would give me an insight into what is involved?

If it were me then commercial it would be. With green deal coming in, it is another cost on top of training and mcs etc

I'd go for commercial, the cost of renewables is putting customers off and I think the green deals going to go ti'ts up, Don't think gas wiil run out in our lifetime but you'll be lucky to make a living purely from renewables

Commercial big on the agenda a lately was it in a magazine or something

commercial is great. no homeowners staring over your shoulder - no house bashing !
its different in a big way, you actually get to climb inside your boilers.
renewable will be ok in 5 years when prices come down to realistic levels.

Only thing about Commercial stuff up beside me is that the big boys have got all the contracts sewn up. Not many commercial places dealing with small companies like myself local to me.

Renewables can be fun depending on what your idea of fun is;