Search the forum,

Discuss Please criticize my plan in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

I am new to the UK and just bought a house in Norwich. It has a vented cylinder and vented CH that is suffering from pretty severe corrosion, some of the rads are rusted through, so I would like to replace it with a sealed system. The rads are all plumbed in 10mm, so I would like to replace that too.

Here is a plan of what I would like install. Any (constructive) criticism of the design is most welcome. The control consists of an old school cylinder stat, thermostatic valves, and smart pumps.
Heating System Layout.jpg

I am also looking for a G3 around Norwich to install/commission/notify the cylinder. I will do all the messy stuff, lifting floorboards, getting all the pipes to the garage, hanging the expansion tank, providing power. If you can supply all the kit for a decent price, that would be great too, I have no access to local wholesale plumbing suppliers.

Finally, if anyone knows of a good deal on traditional cast iron rads and nice looking TRVs to match, please let me know. For example like this:
Traditional Victorian 4 Column 760mm Cast Iron Radiator - https://www.castironradiatorcentre.co.uk/products.asp?code=CDC-760&name=traditional-victorian-4-column-760mm-br-cast-iron-radiator

Without knowing the heating loads, I cannot comment as to how the system would perform. I would suggest that you look at the hot water side as to how that will perform in cold weather when the heating is at a high demand level.

Obviously the overall efficiency of the system is going to be lower than a more conventional set up.

Crazy set up, reinventing the wheel for no good reason.
A lot going on when an unvented cylinder would do the job or a thermal store. But would only recommend thermal store if you had multiple heat inputs.

Complexity for no good reason just means there is more to go wrong.

More expensive to run.