Discuss New heating system for extension in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

Lukey

Hi all,

This is my first post and I'm a complete novice to anything associated with plumbing or heating. However, I'm about to put quite a significant extension on to my house and convert the loft. The new property will have 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms with 1 bath and two showers (1 en suite will be in the loft), underfloor heating in the kitchen and around 12-15 radiators (again, 2 will be in the loft).

My question is, what would be the best heating system to supply the house? I would really love to take advantage of solar power if possible for at least the underfloor heating, maybe more if it's possible. The house has a combo boiler at the moment but it's on the way out so I think it would need replacing. I just don't know whether to go with a new, good combi boiler or an alternative system. I'd like to be able to run at least 2 showers at once with a good pressure and temperature on both. I have space for any tanks or boilers which need to be fitted, and the mains supply is a good pressure. I understand it may be difficult, but I would like a good balance between initial cost and monthly cost and a lower carbon footprint.

I hope this isn't too vague, and apologise if it is. If anyone could provide me with any advice I would really appreciate it, and if any more information is required I'll do my best to get it.

Many thanks in advance guys :)

Kind regards

Welcome!

You're probably best going with an unvented cylinder for the hot water side of things and you could incorporate solar thermal into this. You could install a solar capable cylinder and at a later date put the panels on the roof, this would allow you to spread the cost. These cylinders must be installed by someone with a G3 certificate so get someone in to have a look and provide you with options.