Search the forum,

Discuss Moving vented ho****er cylinder to loft, potential problems??? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Richard 1973

Hi all, newbie here, after reading conflicting information on various forums I thought I would register and post my dilemma here. Thankyou all in advance for taking the time to read..........

I need to relocate HWC from kitchen as we need space in the room to put more kitchen units in.
Really no space in bedrooms above to house HWC, so was hoping to put up in loft, placing the CWS above on a platform, cylinder will be a 1200 by 450 E7 as we have no other energy source.

This is the conflicting information I have read and was hoping some of you may be able to shed light on the matter.

By the way our outlets are bath, basin, toilet (mains fed) on the first floor and a kitchen sink on the ground floor, 2 living in the property with no intentions of any more outlets in the future.

Point 1: Is there a minimum required distance between bottom of CWS and top of HWC as I have read that there is the possibility of drawing air down the vent pipe? this baffles me as surely a combination tank has the CWS directly above the HWC! ( if this is an issue, can the vent or feed pipe to cylinder be uprated to alleviate this?)

Point 2: Will there be a significant drop in flow/pressure to the outlets (or is the head still measured from the bottom of the now raised CWS?)

Point 3: Because of wanting to keep the total weight down to spread the load in the loft, can I feed the cylinder (150l) with a 50l tank and perhaps keep the existing 120l CWS to feed the tank fed cold to the bath? Again this is how a combination tank surely works (it has storage of about a third for cold water and presumably relies on mains replenishment to keep up and the CWS is just a buffer)

I Know this does not perhaps sound very conventional, but would it work?

Many thanks people
Richard