Discuss Is this a fair price for my services? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

Foodface

Hello trusted plumbing people, I'm relatively new to running my own business so most of my posts have been price related and this is going to be too so you'll have to forgive me. I've been doing OK, doing servicing and small jobs mainly but it's the bigger jobs that I'm not sure on my pricing. What do people think to this estimate.

To fit a new condensing all singing boiler in replace of an old combi.

Installing an I-mini 24 he, with system flushing as required, including time-clock, pipe, fittings and labour at £1251.13.

It's for a landlord so I've been told to skim as much of if I want the job, the above price means I'd be earning £350 for my wares and I reckon with full commissioning will take me just under two days. I don't think I'll get the job cos the guy is a scrooge, but what I want to know is whether or not I'm in the right area cos I don't want to be too pricey or be selling myself short.

Thanks for your advice in advance.

Foodface

I started up early this month and all ive been doing is small jobs, boiler repairs and servicing! Done 3 quotes for full central heating and i think ive missed out too!

Tip ive learnt from the others. Once you have a price, STICK to it! Even if they say can you do it for £50/£100 less. If you agree they will think your ripping them off somewhere since all your budging will be on your labour.

Remember to add 20% on your materials for stuff you've missed or if anything goes wrong later on!

In my opinion:

1. He's a landlord so he has money - why lower your prices at your expense?