Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Ideal Standard Alto dual flush cistern query in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

pottonian

Good morning all -

This is my first post on here and as a complete novice to plumbing matters, please bear with me for any ignorance! :)

I've had a couple of new loos fitted in our house which are both Ideal Standard Alto dual flushes and I'm not convinced that the dual flushing is working properly - i.e. on one of them the "short" flush seems to almost empty the cistern (about 4cm from the bottom of the cistern). I've had a look on the web and seen some comments about problems occurring if the rods are too short - I've got my father-in-law coming next week who's considerably more DIY-handy than I am so if necessary, he'll be able to fit some new rods as I've just ordered a set.

My question is really about what happens if it *isn't* the rods that are the problem? Because we've got two of the loos fitted, I've tried swapping the cistern lids (with the push buttons and rods attached) and this doesn't seem to have made a difference. I've then tried manually pushing the plastic lever down (i.e. the bit that pushing the "short flush" push button would depress) and this also seems to use most of the water in the cistern (apart from the 4cm or so I mentioned before). This is making me wonder if there's something that needs adjusting in the main assembly. If so, please can anyone give some points on what and to what level it should be adjusted?

Sorry if I've been far too vague - if anyone wants to have a stab at answering this and needs some more info, please let me know and I'll see what I can find out.

Thanks in advance for any help you may be able to provide -

Ian